School Library Data Project


A large body of research shows that a quality school library with good information resources and staffed by a qualified library media specialist can raise student achievement. The school library data project is an effort to collect quantifiable information about school library resources and use across state lines. Data collected includes circulation, student visits, collection holdings, staffing, policies and financial resources. The School Library Data Project is a committee of CoSSLC.

UPCOMING MEETING

Call for agenda items


AGENDA TO DATE

  1. Briefing on the status of the transition to CoSSLC
  2. Information Sharing regarding your state’s data gathering
  3. Equating 1.0 FTE to different contract definitions: 40 hours, 37.5 hours and 35 hours

Recommended standard data elements

The School Library Data Project worked to create and define recommended data elements for individual states to use in school library data collection.
Current recommendations:




Project Contacts


Steering committee
Bruce Pomerantz
State Library Services
Minnesota Department of Education
bruce.pomerantz@state.mn.us
651-582-8890
Colet Bartow
Library-Information Literacy Coordinator
Montana Office of Public Instruction
cbartow@mt.gov
406-444-3583
Susan Mark
Statistics Librarian
Wyoming State Library
2800 Central Ave.
Cheyenne WY 82002
susan.mark@wyo.gov
307-777-5915

National partners
Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA)
Peggy Rudd
Research and Statistics Committee Chair
prudd@tsl.state.tx.us
(512) 463-5460
www.tsl.state.tx.us/
National Center for Education Statistics
Kerry Gruber, Project Director
Schools and Staffing Survey
Kerry.Gruber@ed.gov
(202) 502-7349

State participants

Alaska
Jacque Peterson
Alaska State Library
School Library Coordinator
Jacque.Peterson@alaska.gov
907-269-6571

Colorado
Linda Hofschire, Research Analyst
Colorado Department of Education
State Library, Library Research Service
Room 309, 201 E. Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
hofschire_l@cde.state.co.us
303-866-6827

Florida
Katrina Figgett, Library Media Specialist
Florida Department of Education
325 West Gaines Street, Suite 424
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400
katrina.figgett@fldoe.org
(850) 245-0758

Idaho
Frank Nelson
Idaho Commission for Libraries
frank.nelson@libraries.idaho.gov

Iowa
Jay Peterson
Library Consultant
State Library of Iowa
jay.peterson@lib.state.ia.us
515-281-4499

Kansas
Peter Haxton
State Data Coordinator
State Library of Kansas
phaxton@kslib.info
785-296-2008

Kentucky
Kathy Mansfield
Library Media/Textbooks Consultant
Kentucky Department of Education
kathy.mansfield@education.ky.gov
502-564-2106, ext. 4500

Maine
Peg Becksvoort, LMS, NBCT
President, Maine Association of School Libraries
Librarian, Falmouth Middle School
52 Woodville Rd
Falmouth, ME 04105
pbecksvoort@fps.k12.me.us

Michigan
Sheryl Mase
Library of Michigan
mases@michigan.gov
517-373-4331

Minnesota
Bruce Pomerantz (steering committee)

Kathy Enger, Director
Northern Lights Library Network
kbenger@nlln.org
218-847-2825

Missouri
Curt Fuchs
Coordinator of Educational Support Services
Missouri Department of Elementary & Secondary Education
curt.fuchs@dese.mo.gov

Montana
Colet Bartow (steering committee)

Nevada
Ellen Fockler
Library Media Technology Coordinator (Consulting)
Washoe County School District, Reno
eafockler@gmail.com
775-682-5552

New York
John P. Brock
Associate in School Library Services
New York State Education Department
Phone: (518) 474-5922
JBROCK@MAIL.NYSED.GOV

North Carolina
Kelly Brannock, MLIS, NBCT
School Library Media Consultant
Instructional Technology Division
NC Dept. of Public Instruction
6364 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-6364
919-807-3267

South Dakota
Daria Bossman, Assistant State Librarian
Development Services
South Dakota State Library
800 Govenors Drive
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2294
605-773-3131
daria.bossman@state.sd.us

Joan Upell, School Library Coordinator
Library Development
South Dakota State Library
800 Govenors Drive
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2294
Joan.Upell@state.sd.us

Texas
Stacey Malek, Library Development Program Coordinator
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
512-463-5532
stacey.malek@tsl.state.tx.us

Utah
Juan Tomás Lee
State Data Coordinator/Library Consultant
Utah State Library Division
250 N 1950 W, Suite A
Salt Lake City, UT 84116
801-715-6769
jtlee@utah.gov

Vermont
Rob Geiszler
Library Development Consultant
Vermont Department of Libraries
271 North Main Street
Rutland, VT 05701
(802) 786-3839
rob.geiszler@state.vt.us

West Virginia
Karen Goff
karen.e.goff@wv.gov

Wyoming
Susan Mark (steering committee)